Culture, history and society

Women in Physics Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

About the group

As a special interest, member-driven group, we encourage group members to participate in the IOP’s activities and support career progress with professional development.

We reflect the varied careers of women physicists in:

  • industry
  • teaching
  • research
  • academia
  • commerce

What the group does

Our current interests include:

  • career breaks
  • career management workshops
  • networking in the UK and Europe
  • education at primary, secondary and tertiary level
  • women in research and academia – especially those on short-term contracts

We welcome new members and suggestions for future events. Come and join us to contribute to our discussions.

Socialise, network and find out more about our group on Facebook.

Joining an IOP special interest group

For non-IOP members: Become a member now

For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

Group physics prize

Jocelyn Bell Burnell Medal and Prize

The award is for women at the start of their careers who have made a substantial contribution to physics and who support and encourage others in the field.

The prize is £1,000. The winner also receives a bronze medal and a certificate.

Nominees for the award must:

  • be women
  • have completed their first undergraduate (bachelor’s or master’s) degree in physics less than five years ago (not including career breaks)
  • be making a substantial contribution to physics
  • be working to support and encourage others in the field
  • be working in a physics-based role e.g. researcher, graduate trainee or teacher, or engaged in postgraduate study in physics
  • have their undergraduate degree listed on We consider nominees with non-UK degrees on a case-by-case basis

Learn about previous winners

Annual conference and events

Find events for the Women in Physics Group

Previous events

Getting Back into the Workplace

Tuesday 30 April 2019

A one-day meeting for women returning to the workplace after a career break with hands-on support and advice on returning to paid employment.

Employers and experts offered practical guidance on:

  • confidence building
  • goal setting
  • identifying skills and possible career paths
  • updating CVs
  • using LinkedIn and social media

The day included:

  • mock interviews by employers
  • information on schemes to help people return to work
  • open-panel discussion and networking

Download the programme to learn more about the event (PDF, 135MB).

Tweets from the day: #IOPReturntowork2019

The Lives and Times of Pioneering Women in Physics

4 March 2015


Download the agenda for more information (PDF, 135KB)

Newsletters and physics publications


Useful links

Committee and contacts

Chair Miss Dawn Watson, CPhys FInstP
Secretary Dr Josie Coltman, CPhys MInstP
Treasurer Miss Elizabeth Fitzpatrick, MInstP
Ordinary Member Mrs Katren Bishop, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Professor Katherine Kirk, CPhys FInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Jessica Maclean, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Eva Philippaki, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Juna Sathian, MInstP
Ordinary Member Mrs Rizwana Shelley, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Ms Heather Young, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Sarah Williams, MInstP
Early Career Physicist Mx Charlotte Vale, MInstP

Email: [email protected]

Advisory panel members 

Professor Dame S Jocelyn Bell Burnell

DBE FRS FRSE. Former President of the Institute of Physics (2008 to 2010), University of Oxford

Professor Philippa Browning

Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics, University of Manchester

Professor Dame Athene Donald

DBE FRS. Professor of Experimental Physics, University of Cambridge

Professor Brian R Fulton

Dean of the Faculty of Sciences, University of York, Chair of the IOP Juno Panel

Dr Barbara J Gabrys

University of Oxford, Chair of the IOP Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Professor Gillian Gehring

OBE. Emeritus Professor of Physics, University of Sheffield, Team Leader ICWIP 2002, EPWS BoA to 2009

Professor Helen Gleeson

OBE. Cavendish Professor of Physics, University of Leeds

Professor Dame Julia Higgins

DBE FRS FREng. Emeritus Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, Imperial College London

Professor Jessica James

Commerzbank, Head of Quantitative Solutions

Professor Averil Macdonald

FRSA. Professor of Science Communication, University of Reading

Professor Peter Main

Head of Department of Physics, Institute of Physics

Professor Andrew Randewich

Chief Scientist, AWE

Professor Elaine Seddon

University of Manchester and Cockcroft Institute Daresbury

Dr Uschi Steigenberger

Rutherford Appleton Laboratory STFC 

Elizabeth Whitelegg

Open University

Professor Julia Yeomans

University of Oxford, Team leader ICWiP 2005, EPS Council

The Physics Benevolent Fund

Support for members, or their dependants, during unemployment, ill-health or a career break.

Find out more about the fund

IOP Carers' Fund

Up to £250 for members who could not otherwise go to an event or conference because they are a parent or carer.

Find out more about the fund

Addressing gender imbalance in physics

We're working to understand and tackle the issue of girls’ under-representation in physics post-16.

Find out more