Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Vacuum Physics Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

About the group

As a special interest, member-driven group, we appeal to those in the vacuum industry and research with meetings that cover a wide range of subjects. Our committee reflects our reach and includes:

  • academics
  • industrial laboratories
  • vacuum users in government
  • representatives of vacuum manufacturers

We bring together people who produce and improve vacuum equipment with those concerned with its application in:

  • medical physics
  • industrial process control
  • electronics and semiconductor industries
  • large machines for research in the physical sciences

What the group does

We take an active interest in the education of those working with vacuum technology.

We have close links with the British Vacuum Council (BVC) and the International Union for Vacuum Science, Technique and Applications (IUVSTA).

Joining an IOP special interest group

For non-IOP members: Become a member now

For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

Group prize

Vacuum Group Thesis Prize

This prize recognises the year’s most outstanding PhD thesis in the field of vacuum physics.

Find out more about the prize

Vacuum Group Poster Prize

The group is sponsoring a poster prize at the EVC17/ECOSS37 Conference 2024 from 17-21 June in Harrogate. The deadline for submissions has now passed.

Find out more about the prize

Group events

Find events for the Vacuum Physics Group


Useful links

Committee and contacts

ChairEurPhys Dr Andrew Chew, CSci CEng CPhys FInstP
SecretaryDr Richard Moseley, MInstP
TreasurerMr James Cameron, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary MemberDr Gianfranco Claudio, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary MemberDr Thomas Cosnahan, CEng MInstP
Ordinary MemberMiss Grace Law, MInstP
Co-opted MemberMr Samuel Lodge, MInstP
Co-opted MemberDr Oleg Malyshev, CPhys FInstP
Co-opted MemberDr Keith Middleman
Ordinary MemberDr Esmaeil Namvar, MInstP
Ordinary MemberDr Catherine Scholey, MInstP
Ordinary MemberDr Danny Sutherland, MInstP