Tribology Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  


About the group

Tribology covers the field of friction, wear and lubrication of surfaces in relative motion.

Tribology is multidisciplinary and draws on:

  • physics
  • chemistry
  • metallurgy
  • engineering

As a special interest, member-driven group, we are a forum for the discussion of current developments in fundamental aspects of interacting surfaces.

What the group does

We have close contacts with other professional bodies to ensure wide coverage of the tribological field, while emphasising the fundamental physics of the processes.

Joining an IOP special interest group

For non-IOP members: Become a member now

For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

Group events

Find events for the Tribology Group

Committee and contacts

Chair Professor Tomasz Liskiewicz, FInstP
Secretary Dr Julia Carrell, MInstP
Treasurer Dr Zhenyu Zhang, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Ben Beake, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Mark Gee, CPhys FInstP
Ordinary Member Miss Lydia Hyde, CEng MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Shahriar Kosarieh
Ordinary Member Professor Ling Wang
Ordinary Member Dr Catalin Pruncu, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Debashis Puhan, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Robert Taylor, CEng CPhys FInstP
Ordinary Member Professor Yu Yan, MInstP