Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Annual Sam Edwards PhD Thesis Prize: Theory of Condensed Matter Group

Applications for the prize from across the entire spectrum of theoretical condensed matter physics are encouraged.

Nominations are now open for the annual Sam Edwards Thesis Prize. The prize is awarded to the author of the PhD thesis that, in the opinion of the group committee, contributes most strongly to the advancement of theoretical condensed matter physics (broadly interpreted).

The prize is for £200, and the prize winner will be invited to give a short talk at the Theory of Condensed Matter Group Theory Day. A runner-up prize of £50 may also be awarded.

Deadline and eligibility

The next application deadline is 1 May 2024.

Applications for the prize are encouraged across the entire spectrum of theoretical condensed matter physics.

Entry is open to all students:

  • from an institution in the UK or Ireland
  • whose PhD examination has taken place between 1 January 2023 and up to the deadline for submissions


Submissions should include:

  • a four-page (A4) summary by you on the key research findings in the thesis
  • a one-page (A4) citation from your PhD supervisor telling us:
    • that you passed
    • the confirmation date of the PhD exam
    • if the thesis has also been submitted to another IOP group for a PhD thesis prize
  • a one-page (A4) confidential report from the external examiner of the PhD thesis

Submission documents should preferably be PDFs.

When a similar thesis prize is offered by another IOP group, for example, the Computational Physics Group, we liaise across groups so that our prizes are not awarded to the same applicant.

We announce the prize at our annual Theory Day.

Email group chair Dr Ryan Barnett ([email protected]) for details and deadlines, with the subject header ‘IOP TCM Thesis Prize’.








  • Winner: Arnold Mathijssen, University of Oxford. For Hydrodynamics of Micro-Swimmers in Complex Fluids and Environments
  • Joint runner-up: Flaviu Cipcigan, University of Edinburgh. For An Electronically Coarse Grained Molecular Model of Water
  • Joint runner-up: Sarah Morgan, University of Cambridge. For Ultrafast Quantum Effects and Vibrational Dynamics in Organic and Biological Systems