Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Theory of Condensed Matter Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

About the group

As a special interest, member-driven group, we support the UK condensed matter theory research community. Our members include physicists working with:

  • electronic structure
  • statistical mechanics of solids and liquids
  • correlated systems and many-body theory

What the group does

We foster a community spirit among scientists doing physics research in these areas. We work to encourage the exchange of ideas and promote collaboration between UK groups, primarily by organising and supporting scientific meetings and running a summer school for research students.

Joining an IOP special interest group

For non-IOP members: Become a member now

For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

Group prize

Annual Sam Edwards PhD Thesis Prize

Find our more about the Annual Sam Edwards PhD Thesis Prize, including previous winners.

Group events 

Find events for the Theory of Condensed Matter Group

Meeting minutes

Committee and contacts

Chair Dr Ryan Barnett, MInstP
Secretary Dr Sam Carr, MInstP
Treasurer Dr Christopher Hooley, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Thibault Bertrand, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Buddhapriya Chakrabarti, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Felix Flicker, MInstP
Ordinary Member Professor Emeritus John Inglesfield
Ordinary Member Dr Marcin Mucha-Kruczynski, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Hannah Price, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Elsen Tjhung, MInstP
Early Career Physicist Dr Benjamin Loewe, MInstP
Early Career Physicist Mx Charlotte Vale, MInstP