Shock Waves and Extreme Conditions Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

About the group

As a special interest, member-driven group, we are interested in both the fundamental principles underpinning, and application of science, engineering and technology, to all forms of matter.

This applies to

  • static high pressures, shock waves, blast and energetic materials
  • materials characterisation across a range of strain rates (static to dynamic)
  • high-pressure or high-rate materials synthesis
  • development of equations of state and constitutive models
  • effects of high-energy and high-rate energy deposition
  • high-speed transient phenomena
  • pressure, energy, temperature and extreme rates ranging from biological, soft systems to dislocation behaviour in single crystals

We initiate and develop links between physicists and other researchers in the multi-disciplinary area of material behaviour under extreme conditions, from dynamic through to static events.

What the group does

We comprise experts from industry and academia and facilitate physics research and discussion in these fields.

This takes the form of:

  • experimental developments
  • numerical (modelling) developments
  • theoretical developments

Joining an IOP special interest group

For non-IOP members: Become a member now

For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

Physics resources

Group events

Find events for the Shock Waves and Extreme Conditions Group


Committee and contacts

Chair Dr Gareth Appleby-Thomas, MInstP
Secretary Mr Glenn Whiteman, CPhys MInstP
Treasurer Dr Ian Cullis, FInstP
Ordinary Member Mr Christopher Braithwaite, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Mark Collinson, CPhys MInstP 
Ordinary Member Dr Daniel Eakins
Ordinary Member Mr Simon Finnegan, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Michael Goff, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Mr Craig Hoing, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr William Proud, FInstP
Ordinary Member Mr Steve Rothman, CPhys MInstP
Early Career Physicist Dr James Perry, MInstP