Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Quantum Electronics and Photonics Doctoral Research Prize

This prize recognises students who have carried out doctoral research of an exceptional standard in the field of quantum electronics and photonics in the areas of our current activities.

The prize is up to £500 and a certificate. At the discretion of the committee, up to two further “runners up” prizes may be awarded.

Students eligible for this prize should be:

  • members of the IOP
  • nominated by their supervisor or themselves
  • completing their PhD examination, to the stage of an examiners’ recommendation of at least a ‘pass with minor corrections’, between 1 January 2022 and 31 December 2022

Subject areas can include:

  • lasers and other sources of electromagnetic radiation
  • fibre optics and optical communication
  • optical materials
  • quantum optics
  • integrated photonics
  • nonlinear optics and light-matter interaction
  • optical sensing and spectroscopy
  • bio- and medical optics
  • nanophotonics

Supervisors can nominate students, or students can self-nominate by submitting:

  • the nomination form (Word DOC, 73KB)
  • an electronic copy of the thesis
  • a chosen feature image
  • a headshot of the student for our print and online media
  • a list of journal publications and conference papers with details of the invitation or poster

Submit nominations to Dr Edmund Harbord at the University of Bristol via email: [email protected].

The nomination deadline for the 2022 prize is Thursday 1 June 2023.



Dr Rachel Offer

Dr Rachel Offer

We are pleased to announce that the 2019 QEP Doctoral Research Prize has been awarded to Dr Rachel Offer for their work on 'Four-wave mixing in rubidium vapour with structured light and an external cavity' under the supervision of Dr Aidan Arnold and Professor Erling Riis at the University of Strathclyde.

Dr Offer’s work has led key developments in both the areas of holography and four-wave mixing (FWM) in atomic vapours. Their work has results in highly cited published work in Optics Express, Optics Letters and Communications Physics.

Dr Offer was also recently awarded an EPSRC Doctoral Prize Fellowship to initiate studies into cold atomic memories.

QEP doctoral research winner image


Dr Daniel Whiting

For Nonlinear Optics in a Thermal Rb Vapour at High Magnetic Fields, under supervision of Professor Ifan Hughes at the University of Durham.


Joint winners

Dr Dianmin Lin

For Flat Optics Based On Dielectric Gradient Metasurfaces. Stanford University, USA.

Dr Jamie Francis-Jones

For Active Multiplexing of Spectrally Engineered Heralded Single Photons in an Integrated Fibre Architecture Centre for Photonics and Photonic Materials. University of Bath, UK.


Joshua Silverstone

For Entangled Light in Silicon Waveguides Centre for Quantum Photonics. University of Bristol, UK.


Jun Yu (Bruce) Ou

For Reconfigurable Photonic Metamaterials Nanophotonics and Metamaterials Group, University of Southampton, UK.


Tobias Herr

For Solitons and Dynamics of Frequency Comb Formation in Optical Microresonators K-Lab, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland.


Sebastian Weustner

For Gain and Plasmon Dynamics in Active Nanoplasmonic Metamaterials. Condensed Matter Theory Group, Imperial College London, UK.


Paul Siddons

For Faraday Rotation of Pulsed and Continuous-wave Light in Atomic Vapour. Atomic and Molecular Physics Group, Durham University, UK.


Eric Plum

For Chirality and Metamaterials. Nanophotonics and Metamaterials Group, University of Southampton, UK.


Nikitas Papasimakis

For Trapped-modes, Slow Light and Collective Resonances in Metamaterials. Nanophotonics and Metamaterials Group, University of Southampton, UK.

Kosmas Tsakmakidis for Ultra-slow and Stopped Light in Metamaterials. Condensed Matter Theory Group, Imperial College London, UK.


Fernando Brandao

Imperial College London.


Sarah Croke

Strathclyde University.


Matthias Ediger

Heriot-Watt University.


John Morton

Oxford University.


Jörg Evers

Universität Freiburg.


Hyunseok Jeong

Queen's University Belfast.

Seán Martin O'Flaherty

Trinity College Dublin.


Dimitris Angelakis

Imperial College London.