Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Quantum Electronics and Photonics Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

About the group

As a special interest, member-driven group, we represent a forum for a community engaged with and interested in the research, applications and educational aspects of the quantum electronics and photonics.

The Quantum Electronics Group was founded in 1972 to reflect on the burgeoning interest in lasers and their applications. In 1999 its name was changed to provide coverage of many other areas that have emerged due to rapid advancements in the broader area of photonics.

What the group does

Some examples of the research areas that we engage with are:

  • lasers and other sources of electromagnetic radiation
  • fibre optics and optical communication
  • optical materials
  • quantum optics
  • integrated photonics
  • nonlinear optics and light-matter interaction
  • optical sensing and spectroscopy
  • bio- and medical optics
  • nanophotonics

Our membership covers:

  • industry
  • academia
  • education sector
  • policy makers
  • general public

Joining an IOP special interest group

For non-IOP members: Become a member now

For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

Group prizes

Quantum Electronics and Photonics Doctoral Research Prize

This prize recognises students who have carried out doctoral research of an exceptional standard in the field of quantum electronics and photonics in the areas of our current activities.

Learn more about the Quantum Electronics and Photonics Doctoral Research Prize.

Optics and Photonics Prize

This prize is biennially awarded jointly with the Optical Group for:

  • an outstanding contribution to the optics and photonics community
  • work mainly carried out in the UK or Ireland

Learn more about the Optics and Photonics Prize.

Bates Prize

This is awarded jointly with other groups, to an early career researcher for outstanding research, published within the previous five years, on a topic relevant to these IOP groups:

  • Quantum Optics, Quantum Information and Quantum Control
  • Atomic and Molecular Interactions
  • Molecular Physics
  • Quantum Electronics and Photonics
  • Plasma Physics

Learn more about the Bates Prize.

Alan Gibson Prize

This prize is awarded biannually for the best poster presented at the Photon series of conferences.

Group events

Photon 2020

1-4 September 2020 – held as a virtual event

Over four days, Photon participants had the opportunity to:

  • attend lectures from experts in the field
  • get up to date with cutting-edge research
  • visit exhibitions on the latest in optics and photonics technology

Roadmapping the Photonics Sector (from Photon 2020)

Thumbnail for embedded video

Learn more about the Photon 2020 conference


We also run half- and one-day meetings on specific topics, sometimes replacing the specialist approach with a tutorial format.

As well as running our own programme of meetings and conferences, we keep in touch with the events at:

  • The Royal Society of Chemistry 
  • The Quantum Electronics Division of the European Physical Society
  • the Institution of Electrical Engineers' Optical Technology and Applications Group

Find events Quantum Electronics and Photonics Group


Committee and contacts 

Chair Professor Salah Obayya, FinstP 
Secretary Dr Khurshed Shah, MInstP
Treasurer Dr Esmaeil Namvar, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Nilanthy Balakrishnan, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Kaveh Delfanazari, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Angela Demetriadou, MInstP
Ordinary Member Mr Qazi Ejaz Ur Rehman, MInstP
Ordinary Member Mr Malcolm Elkin, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Edmund Harbord, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Stuart May, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Miss Eleanor Nichols, MInstP
Ordinary Member Mr Dmytro Tupchiienko, MInstP
Ordinary Member Miss Qing Wang, MInstP

Email: [email protected]