Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

The Malcolm Haines Prize for an early career physicist

This prize is awarded once every two years to an early career physicist. The award recognises early researchers for one or more of the following:

  • outstanding research
  • innovation
  • leadership 

Nominees must be:

  • based in the UK or Ireland
  • working in experimental or theoretical plasma physics
  • researchers with less than six years of work experience after having completed a PhD or less than 10 years without a PhD, excluding career breaks

Plasma physics is defined for this prize to include:

  • laser plasmas
  • warm dense matter
  • low-temperature plasmas
  • technological plasmas
  • space/astrophysical plasmas
  • magnetically confined and inertially confined fusion plasmas

The prize is in honour of the late Malcolm Haines, an outstanding plasma physicist at Imperial College London. It is sponsored by his widow, Polly Haines.

The prize is open to all members of the plasma physics community.

Self-nominations will be accepted, but in such cases a second nomination is required from a person who is a member (in any category) of the Institute of Physics and is based at an institution other than that of the nominee.

Nominations should include a copy of, or URL link to, one paper to which the nominee has made a major contribution. The paper should have been published, or accepted for publication, in a refereed journal.

Nominations should be sent by email to Dr Josie Coltman: [email protected].

The nominations process is currently closed. Nominations will open again towards the end of 2022. The next Haines Prize will be awarded in 2023.



Dr Rob Shalloo

Imperial College London. For his paper, Automation and control of laser-wakefield accelerators using Bayesian optimization.


Dr Nick Walkden

Culham Centre for Fusion Energy. For his paper, 3D simulations of turbulent mixing in a simplified slab-divertor geometry.