Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Bob Chivers Prize in Physical Acoustics

This annual prize promotes research in physical acoustics by recognising the best paper by a PhD student at a UK university.

The prize is £250 and a certificate.

The research on physical acoustics can include but is not limited to:

  • sonar
  • ultrasonics
  • seismic waves
  • room acoustics
  • non-destructive testing

To be considered nominations must:

  • be authored or co-authored by the applicant, who must be or have been a PhD student at a UK or Irish institution at the time of the journal submission;
  • have been published in any peer-reviewed journal, but one limited to physical acoustics;
  • be publicly accessible (in electronic form or on paper) by 31 March of the year of the award;
  • be sent to the email address given below;
  • be received by the closing date of 31 May of the year of the award (earlier submissions at any time before the closing date are encouraged); and
  • when comprising multi-authored papers, include a letter from the project supervisor stating that the work was mainly or exclusively undertaken by the applicant.

The 2022 deadline has now passed. The winner will be announced later in the year.

Please email any queries to Dr Peter Huthwaite: [email protected].

The award is presented at the Anglo-French Physical Acoustics Conference (usually held in January).



Marion Cromb

Research on the amplification of waves from rotating bodies.


Paul Dryburgh

Research into spatially resolved acoustic spectroscopy for integrity of additive manufacturing.


Luke Cox

Acoustic Lock: Position and orientation trapping of non-spherical sub-wavelength particles in mid-air using a single-axis acoustic levitator.


Michael Brown

Design of multi-frequency acoustic kinoforms.


Dr Asier Marzo et al

For research on holographic acoustic elements for manipulation of levitated objects. 


Anton van Pamel

For research on finite element modelling of elastic wave scattering in a polycrystalline material in 2D and 3D.


Bo Lan

For research on experimental and computational studies of ultrasound wave propagation in hexagonal close-packed polycrystals for texture detection.


Gim Hwa Chua

For research on the use of clicks resembling those of the Atlantic bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops truncatus) to improve target discrimination in bubbly water with biased pulse summation sonar.


Dr Xiaoyu Xi

For research on collective bubble dynamics near a surface in a weak acoustic standing wave field.


Dr Pierre Gelat

For modelling of the acoustic field of a multi-element HIFU array scattered by human ribs.


Dr David (Zheng) Fan

For research on elastic waves guided by a welded joint in a plate.


Dr Marco Morbidini

For research on prediction of the thermosonic signal from fatigue cracks in metals using vibration-damping measurements.


Dr Christopher Lowis

For determining the strength of rotating broadband sources in ducts by inverse methods.