Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Nuclear Physics Early Career Researcher Prize

This annual prize is for a promising early career scientist who has made an outstanding contribution to nuclear physics.

Apply now for the 2023 award.

The prize is £250. The winner is invited to present their work at the annual IOP Nuclear Physics Conference.


Nominees must:

  • work in the area of fundamental nuclear physics (experimental and/or theoretical);


  • work in the applications of nuclear physics;


  • have less than six years’ postdoctoral research experience or, for those without a PhD, be within 10 years of the start of their first employment contract where research is the primary function of their role;
  • be employed by or studying at or have obtained their PhD at a UK or Irish institution;


  • be an IOP Nuclear Physics Group member.

What is not included in the maximum qualifying period:

  • postgraduate study;
  • career breaks; and
  • time employed in unrelated physics-based research. Please include a brief career history if this is the case.

We also support nominations from researchers and students themselves. Students should have the support of their supervisor.

The deadline for nomination forms for the award is Thursday 30 November 2023 with supporting statements due by Friday 15 December 2023.

Download a nomination form (Word doc, 71KB)

Download a nomination form (PDF, 143KB)


2022 Dr Shane Wilkins, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2021 Dr Jacob Heery, University of Liverpool

2020 Dr Jack Henderson, University of Surrey

2019 Dr Antonio Márquez Romero, University of York

2018 Dr Robert Shearman, University of Surrey

2017 Dr Ronald Garcia Ruiz, University of Manchester

2016 Dr Frank Brown, University of Brighton

2015 Dr Daniel Doherty, University of York

2013 Dr Kara Lynch, University of Manchester

2012 Dr Liam Gaffney, University of Liverpool

2011 Dr Matthew Reed, University of Surrey

2010 Dr Edward Simpson, University of Surrey