Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Nuclear Physics Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

    About the group

    As a special interest, member-driven group, we are interested in supporting:

    • promising early physics careers
    • nuclear physics researchers in industry
    • nuclear physics researchers in universities
    • students who are attending nuclear physics events
    • Institute members with an interest in nuclear physics

    What the group does

    We promote activities for the nuclear physics community including:

    • outreach
    • resources for teachers
    • talks to the general public
    • meetings and conferences

    Joining an IOP special interest group

    For non-IOP members: Become a member now

    For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

    Group prizes

    Nuclear Physics Thesis Prize

    This new prize will be awarded annually for exceptional work carried out as part of a PhD Thesis project in the field of nuclear physics. The winner shall receive £250.

    Apply now and find out more about the Nuclear Physics Thesis Prize.

    Nuclear Physics Early Career Researcher Prize

    This annual prize is for a promising early career scientist who has made an outstanding contribution to nuclear physics.

    Apply now and find out more about the Nuclear Physics Early Career Researcher Prize, including previous winners.

    Group events

    Find events for the Nuclear Physics Group


    Download previous editions dating back to 2013.

    IOP Nuclear Physics Group members colloquia

    These seminars, organised by members of the IOP Nuclear Physics Group, cover a variety of topics in the field of nuclear physics. Each virtual seminar is hosted by a different Nuclear Physics Group in the UK with invited national and international speakers. The seminars are recorded to provide an open-access resource with links given below.

    Committee and contacts

    Chair Dr Jack Henderson, MInstP
    Treasurer Dr Stefanos Paschalis, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Liam Gaffney, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr David Lee, CPhys MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Kara Lynch, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Rachel Montgomery, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Mr Lee Packer, CPhys FInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Philippos Papadakis, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Andrew Petts, CSci CPhys FInstP
    Ordinary Member Mr Malik Salaam, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Miss Bethany Slingsby, MInstP
    Early Career Physicist Miss Hannah Gill, MInstP

    Email: [email protected]