Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Early Career Prize: Nuclear Industry Group

This prize is for physicists in the early stages of a career in the nuclear industry.

It is awarded to the nominee who, while addressing a project or problem in their work, has:

  • participated in outreach;
  • shown innovative thinking;
  • attained recognition in their area of work;
  • made a positive impact resulting from their area of their work; and
  • a wide breadth of activity.

The solution must have required the application of skills and understanding expected of a professional physicist working in an industrial environment.


Nominees for the early career prize must:

  • be a member or associate member of the Institute of Physics; and
  • have worked in the nuclear industry for no more than 10 years (allowance is made for career breaks).

Nominations can be made by anyone, including the nominee.

Submit nominations to: [email protected].

What to include in the submission

  • A description of the challenge and how it was addressed by the nominee. If this is sensitive information, please notify the group chair before submission. We can put measures in place to allow your submission to be considered. This description should be no more than 500 words. It can include diagrams or photographs;
  • A statement of support from the nominee’s line manager and/or a client; and
  • A brief CV outlining the nominee’s experience in the industry and their background. This should be no more than two sides of A4.

Nominations are considered by a panel of group committee members and co-opted specialist panel members as required. Their decision is final.



Allan Simpson

For the technical leadership demonstrated in his co-ordination of the Nuclear Data arm of the UK's Advanced Fuel Cycle Programme, and his work on innovate projects within the field of nuclear data including research into blockchain technologies.


Jacob Home

For important first steps in his career by engaging with outreach, by innovating in a broad scope of work, and thereby having an impact on the world around him.


Rebecca Houghton

For her excellent work for the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority on the future strategic direction for management of radioactive material stockpiles in the UK, proposed to the Department for Energy and Climate Change.


David Hughes

For his leadership of a team to develop a suitable decay heat methodology with associated validation and uncertainties associated with the proposed Sizewell B Dry Fuel Store.


Chris Holland

For his work on the Lower Ports nuclear analysis project for the International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER) fusion reactor.


Rhodri Morgan

For his leadership of the development of laser-induced-breakdown spectroscopy as a tool for the monitoring of nuclear waste packets.


Craig Shearer

For his work to develop a practical system using cosmic-ray muons to analyse the contents of intermediate-level waste containers.


Lindsay Cox

For her innovative approach and leadership in establishing and promoting the practical application of muon-scattering tomography detection techniques capability.