Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Career Contribution Prize: Nuclear Industry Group

This prize is for physicists who have worked for a substantial part of their career in the nuclear industry



This aim of the prize is to:

  • promote the role of physicists within the nuclear industry;
  • promote innovation in the nuclear industry; and
  • reward effort and commitment to advancing the nuclear industry.

The prize is presented annually to a physicist who has:

  • worked for a substantial part of their career in the nuclear industry (usually more than 20 years);
  • shown outstanding levels of innovation and contributed to the progress of the industry over a sustained period;
  • demonstrated outstanding commitment to the promotion of the nuclear industry throughout their career; and
  • applied their skills and understanding in a way that is expected of a professional physicist working in an industrial environment.

The winner will also receive a framed certificate from the IOP and will be invited to a suitable group event to be presented with their award.  

What to include in the submission

  • A description of the challenge and how it was addressed by the nominee. If this is sensitive information, please notify the group chair before submission. We can put measures in place to allow your submission to be considered. This description should be no more than 500 words. It can include diagrams or photographs;
  • A statement from the nominee’s line manager and/or a client describing the individual’s innovative approach to problems, and their demonstration of enthusiasm and determination in their work. This should be no more than 500 words; and
  • A brief CV outlining the nominee’s experience in the industry and their background. This should be no more than two sides of A4.

Nominations are considered by a panel of members of the IOP Nuclear Industry Group and any co-opted specialist panel members as required. Their decision is final.


Nominees for the Career Contribution Prize must:

  • have been working in the nuclear industry for a substantial part of their career (this would normally be 20 years or more); and
  • be a member or associate member of the IOP.

Nominations can be made by anyone, including the nominee.

Apply now

Submit nominations to the chair of the IOP Nuclear Industry Group Prize Committee, Rob Shearman, at [email protected]. The deadline is Wednesday 31 January 2024.



Robert Moscrop

In recognition of his distinguished career in Fault Analysis, including his leading work on Generic Design Assessments, and the training and development of assessors at the Office for Nuclear Regulation. His work has made a significant contribution to the nuclear industry and has helped to improve safety of both operational and new facilities.


Professor Jon Billowes

For a long and far-reaching career with an international reputation for research and excellence. He has worked at the highest levels delivering innovative ways to ensure the UK’s nuclear education.


Dr Colin H Zimmerman

For over 40 years of outstanding contributions and dedication to research in the nuclear industry. His career in the nuclear industry spanned over 35 years and over the course of his career he was involved in many varied technical areas and supported a wide range of UK and European initiatives and activities.


Steve Curr

For over 40 years of work in the nuclear industry, starting as an apprentice at Rolls-Royce and developing his career through numerous leadership roles. He played a key role in the core design for the Dreadnought-class boats and in the delivery of significant training to engineers in the nuclear industry. 


Kevin Hesketh

For over 40 years of excellence in technical research in the nuclear industry. He contributed to international initiatives and agencies and used his extensive knowledge for the benefit of others in the industry.


David Weaver

For dedicating over 40 years to research and training used by the nuclear industry, and for making significant contributions to both.


Alan Copestake

For his contribution to the development of computational methods that have enabled the design of a generation of light-water nuclear reactors for submarines.