Franks Thesis Prize: Nanoscale Physics and Technology Group

This prize encourages and recognises high-quality research and scientific writing in the broad physics research fields of nanoscience and nanotechnology.

It is awarded for the best PhD thesis completed by a student member of the group. The prize is £500.

The Franks prize is jointly funded by the group and the National Physical Laboratory.

Find out more about Professor Albert Franks CBE DSc FInstP.


You can make a nomination if you are a:

  • PhD supervisor
  • self-nominating graduate from 2019
  • centre for doctoral training course director

Nominations should include:

  • the thesis abstract
  • a statement of support to highlight the scientific impact of the work
  • a list of publications stemming from the research carried out during the PhD

The qualifying period is the calendar year 2019. The thesis must have been successfully examined for a Doctoral Degree and the final version submitted. (Theses originally submitted in 2018 are therefore eligible if they were examined in 2019.)

Email nominations to the PhD prize coordinator, Dr Cate Ducati, University of Cambridge. Email: [email protected] before the closing date of 25 August 2020 (extended from 15 August due to technical issues).

The prize winner will be announced by 30 September 2020.


Read about Dr Ben Russell, the 2018 recipient of the Franks Thesis Prize, in our Summer 2018 newsletter (PDF, 1.32MB).