Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Nanoscale Physics and Technology Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

    About the group

    As a special interest, member-driven group, we are interested in nanotechnology and nanoscale structures related to:

    • physics
    • research
    • technology
    • applications
    • public awareness

    We highlight the role of physics in nanoscale science and nanotechnology.

    What the group does

    We serve and support members of the IOP with an interest in the physics of 0.1-100 nm structures and the development of these structures for new technologies.

    Joining an IOP special interest group

    For non-IOP members: Become a member now

    For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

    Group physics prize

    Franks Thesis Prize

    This prize encourages and recognises high-quality research and scientific writing in the broad physics research fields of nanoscience and nanotechnology.

    Find out more about the Franks Thesis Prize, including previous winners.

    Group events

    Find events for the Nanoscale Physics and Technology Group


    Newsletter, Summer 2018 (PDF, 1.32MB)

    Committee and contacts

    Chair Dr Luis Perdigao, MInstP
    Secretary Dr Khurshed Shah, MInstP
    Treasurer Ms Laia Delgado Callico, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Yameng Cao, CPhys MInstP
    Ordinary Member Eur Ing Dr Richard Forbes, CPhys FInstP
    Ordinary Member Mr Gary Hayes, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Mr Dean Kos, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Martin Munz, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Taylor Stock, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Adam Sweetman, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Mr David Tolfree, CPhys FInstP

    Email: [email protected]