Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Mathematical and Theoretical Physics Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

About the group

Mathematical and theoretical physics is the use of mathematics to solve physical problems. In its widest sense, mathematical and theoretical physics falls between two major disciplines.

As a special interest, member-driven group, we consider the development of interdisciplinary activity in branches of mathematical physics. This includes:

  • general relativity
  • quantum field theory
  • statistical mechanics

What the group does

We maintain a high profile for the subject with:

  • funding bodies
  • influential groups
  • the Institute of Physics
  • the physics community

Some areas of focus include:

  • graph theory
  • group theory
  • functional integration
  • solutions of non-linear equations
  • differential geometry and topology
  • functional analysis and measure theory

Application of mathematics is particularly relevant to:

  • nuclear physics
  • statistical physics
  • classical dynamics
  • quantum computing
  • quantum field theory
  • other emerging areas
  • relativity and gravitation
  • physics of continuous media

We collaborate with other groups and divisions in areas of common interest like:

  • computational physics
  • condensed matter physics
  • high-energy particle physics

We also have relationships with other organisations such as the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications.

Joining an IOP special interest group

For non-IOP members: Become a member now

For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

Group events

Find events for the Mathematical and Theoretical Physics Group


Committee and contacts

Chair Mr Luthais McCash, MInstP
Secretary Prof Jonathan Blackledge, CPhys FInstP
Treasurer Dr Pieter Naaijkens, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Christian Boehmer, MInstP
Ordinary Member Mr Farhan Chowdhury, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Praveen Kumar Dhankar, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Natalia Iyudu, MInstP
Ordinary Member Miss Meimei Leigh
Ordinary Member Dr Milan Glendza Petrovic Njegos, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Alessandro Principi, MInstP
Early Career Physicist Miss Nicola Farmer

Email: [email protected]