Magnetism Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

    About the group

    As a special interest, member-driven group, we promote and support physics research in:

    • magnetism
    • spintronics
    • magnetic materials 

    Research in magnetism ranges from theoretical and experimental work in fundamental physics to applications of magnetic materials.

    What the group does

    We support:

    • early career physicists
    • established researchers in academia
    • industrial enterprises from small start-ups to large multinationals

    We represent the magnetism research physics community in the Institute and contribute to raising its profile.

    We welcome suggestions for new ways to support physicists working in magnetism. Email [email protected] with your ideas. 

    Joining an IOP special interest group

    For non-IOP members: Become a member now

    For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

    Group prize

    Professor Erich Peter Wohlfarth and the Wohlfarth Lecture Series

    The Wohlfarth annual lecture at the Magnetism Conference recognises the outstanding contribution made by Professor Peter Wohlfarth to the field of magnetism. It is jointly sponsored by our group and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers  (IEEE) UK and Ireland Magnetics Chapter.

    Find out more about Professor Erich Peter Wohlfarth and the Wohlfarth Lecture Series.

    Physics resources 

    Postgraduate funding for events

    We can help fund the cost of postgraduate students presenting research work at international conferences. Learn more about the Research Student Conference Fund.  

    Student Travel Bursary Reports 

    Group events 

    Find group events on the IOP events site.

    Magnetism Group conference

    Magnetism is the conference organised by the UK and Republic of Ireland magnetism community. It encourages participation from Europe and further afield, and from industry. It is a highly successful conference held annually since 2014. Magnetism 2021 will be held online on 12-13 April.

    In the future we will be again inviting applications for conference hosts, check back for details.

    Conference co-chair

    The Magnetism conference series is organised by the IOP Magnetism Group. Each year, a committee member will be included as conference co-chair to provide support and a link to the committee.


    Committee and contacts 

    Chair Dr Thomas Moore, CPhys MInstP
    Secretary Dr Thomas Ostler, MInstP
    Treasurer Dr Timothy Mercer, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Laura Bovo, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Matthew Bryan, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Solveig Felton, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Paul Keatley, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Sam Ladak, FInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Liam O'Brien, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Gonzalo Vallejo Fernandez
    Ordinary Member Dr Helen Walker, MInstP
    Ordinary Member Dr Katharina Zeissler

    Email: [email protected]