Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Ion and Plasma Surface Interactions Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

About the group

As a special interest, member-driven group, we are interested in all things related to the interaction of charged or neutral particles with a solid. These include:

  • fabrication of materials and devices by plasma
  • ion and atom beam methods
  • equipment for producing these species
  • the diagnostics for controlling the processes

We provide a forum for industrial and academic researchers and physicists interested in the interaction of energetic particles with solids.

What we do

We discuss:

  • new investigations
  • ideas
  • concepts
  • data and applications

Our members are interested in:

  • energy-loss process and ranges
  • radiation damage
  • sputtering
  • ion-induced electron emission
  • ion channelling
  • pulsed laser deposition
  • plasma-assisted CVD
  • atmospheric plasmas

We also follow the investigation of solids and surface probing by use of ion beams including atom location, and the principles and use of ion implantation for doping of solids.

We have strong links with industrial and academic laboratories and organisations and work closely with other IOP groups, notably:

Joining an IOP special interest group

For non-IOP members: Become a member now

For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

Group prizes

Thesis Prize

This prize is for the year's most outstanding PhD thesis.

Find out more about the Thesis Prize, including previous winners.

Annual Poster Prize

This prize is for the best poster presentation by a student attending the group’s annual Plasmas, Surfaces and Thin Films meeting.

Find out more about the Annual Poster Prize, including previous winners.

Group events

Find events for the Ion and Plasma Surface Interactions Group


Committee and contacts

Chair Dr Erik Wagenaars, CPhys MInstP
Secretary Dr Oliver Greenwood, MInstP
Treasurer Professor Roger Webb, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Hayley Brown, MInstP
Ordinary Member Miss Beaujolais Bussell, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Patrick Isherwood, MInstP
Ordinary Member Professor Roger Smith, CEng CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Professor John Walls, CPhys FInstP
Ordinary Member Professor Vladimir Vishnyakov, FInstP