Gravitational Physics Group thesis prize

This prize is awarded for excellence in physics research and communication.

The prize is £500.

The winner is invited to submit a paper to Classical and Quantum Gravity (CQG) based on their thesis. If accepted, it is made a select article in CQG.

They will also have the opportunity to present their work at one of the UK BritGrav meetings.

How to enter

Please download and complete an application form (word doc, 36.5KB) and submit it together with an electronic copy of your thesis to Dr Patricia Schmidt.



Scott Melville

Imperial College London. For Constraining Low Energy Effective Field Theories via High Energy Axioms.


Benjamin Wallisch

University of Cambridge. For Cosmological Probes of Light Relics.


Viraj Sanghai

Queen Mary University London. For Post-Newtonian Gravity in Cosmology.


Dr Daniela Saadeh

University College London. For Testing the Isotropy of the Universe with the CMB.


Dr John Muddle

University of Southampton. For Advanced Numerical Methods For Neutron Star Interfaces.


Dr Patricia Schmidt

Cardiff University. For Studying and Modelling the Complete Gravitational-Wave Signal from Precessing Black Hole Binaries.


Dr Anna Heffernan

University College Dublin. For The Self-force Problem: Local Behaviour of the Detweiler-Whiting Singular Field.


Dr Cesar Simon Lopez-Monsalvo

University of Southampton. For Covariant Thermodynamics and Relativity.


Dr John Miller

University of Glasgow. For On non-Gaussian Beams and Optomechanical Parametric Instabilities in Interferometric Gravitational Wave Detectors.


Dr Barry Wardell

University College Dublin. For Green Functions and Radiation Reaction from a Spacetime Perspective.


Dr Emanuele Rocco

Birmingham. For Development of a test of Newton's Law of Gravitation at Micrometre Distances Using a Superconducting Spherical Torsion Balance.


Dr Julian Sonner

Cambridge. For Aspects of Classical and Quantum Brane Dynamics.