Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Environmental Physics Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

About the group

Environmental physics is the application of the principles of physics to the natural environment. As a special interest, member-driven group, our members are drawn from sectors of the physics community as diverse as geomagnetism and agriculture.

Physics cannot be considered in isolation when considering environmental problems. It does, however, play a pivotal role in:

  • local and global monitoring
  • understanding the world we live in
  • recognising our effect on the planet

What the group does

Our role is to:

  • promote physics in the environmental sciences
  • provide a forum for the discussion of physics as it applies to the environment
  • encourage the development and application of physical methods to environmental research
  • promote the education and training of physicists in the environmental sciences through meetings and contacts with educationalists at all levels

Joining an IOP special interest group

For non-IOP members: Become a member now

For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

Net Zero in 3 competition

Explain net zero to high-school students in a video or podcast in just three minutes, in this alternative essay competition from the IOP’s Energy and Environmental Physics groups.

Find out more

Group physics competition

Our annual essay competition recognises excellence in communicating the significance, value and rewards of engaging with environmental physics.

Find out more about the annual essay competition, including previous winners.

Group events

Find group events on the website or in our current newsletter (PDF, 534KB).


Committee and contacts

Chair Dr Helen Rogers, FInstP
Secretary Professor Alan Drew, MInstP
Treasurer Professor Patrick Goodman, FInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Festus Ben, MInstP
Co-opted Member Dr John Bruun, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Julie Futcher, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Martin Goodchild, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Professor Paul Harrison, FInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Natalie Harvey, MInstP
Ordinary Member Mr Luthais McCash, MInstP
Ordinary Member Professor George Victor, CEng MInstP
Early Career Physicist Mr Matthew Minter, MInstP
Early Career Physicist Dr Tobias Thornes, MInstP

Email: [email protected]