Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Energy Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

About the group

As a special interest, member-driven group, we are interested in:

  • the efficient use of energy
  • materials for energy applications
  • energy use in the built environment
  • the exploitation of resources for energy use
  • power-generation technologies: conventional, renewable, and nuclear
  • security of supply

Our members include industrialists and consultants in:

  • renewable sectors 
  • nuclear industries
  • building services
  • gas production

A third of our members are student and lecturer academics working in physics education.

What the group does

Topics examined by our group are:

  • energy efficiency
  • heat pumps
  • offshore wind 
  • solar hydrogen
  • carbon inheritance
  • anaerobic digestion
  • mobility engineering
  • energy management
  • electric vehicle charging
  • geofuels

Joining an IOP special interest group

For non-IOP members: Become a member now

For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

Net Zero in 3 competition

Explain net zero to high-school students in a video or podcast in just three minutes, in this alternative essay competition from the IOP’s Energy and Environmental Physics groups.

Find out more

Group events

Find events for the Energy Group


Our newsletter includes research summaries, paper reports and news from the physics community.

Useful links

Read government proposals for decarbonising all sectors of the UK economy in its Clean Growth Strategy (PDF, 5.19MB).

Committee and contacts

Chair Dr Carlos Lledo-Fernandez, MInstP
Secretary Dr Francisco Cabrera Espana, MInstP
Treasurer Dr Dominique Cannavina, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Miss Bianca Constandache
Ordinary Member Mr Gary Hayes, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Paul Henshall, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Vanesa Magar, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Santanu Ray, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Helen Rogers, FInstP
Ordinary Member Mrs Heather Stevenson, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Mr Sammy Tweddle CEng MInstP

Email: [email protected]