Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Electron Microscopy and Analysis Group Thesis Prize

This prize is awarded annually, in December of each year, for the most significant original doctoral work submitted in the field of electron microscopy in the physical sciences within the award period. 

The Prize

Winners receive a certificate and £250.


Eligible applicants are those who:

  • are current IOP Electron Microscopy and Analysis Group (EMAG) members at the time of application; and
  • have submitted the final, corrected version of their PhD thesis within the previous two years. (For this inaugural prize, the relevant dates are 1 August 2022 to 31 July 2024.)


Self-nominations or a nomination from a PhD supervisor, graduate school director, external thesis examiner, centre for doctoral training (CDT) director or equivalent can be sent to the EMAG Secretary or Chair throughout the year and before the end of August of each year.

Nominations and self-nominations should include:

  • an electronic copy of the thesis;
  • a lay summary of up to 500 words that outlines the significance of the work;
  • a list of publications arising from the thesis and the candidate’s wider work; and
  • for nominations, a one-page letter of endorsement from a senior researcher in the field, typically the candidate’s supervisor, examiner, CDT director, graduate school director or equivalent or, for self-nominations, a one-page statement that highlights the impact of the thesis. If relevant, the letter of endorsement/personal statement may include details of the candidate’s circumstances that strengthen their case.

Submissions will be judged by a panel nominated by the EMAG Committee and announced each autumn.

How to apply

Nominations are now open. The deadline is 23.59 on Saturday 31 August 2024. Please send nominations to [email protected].