Mansel Davies Award

The Mansel Davies Award is for outstanding contributions to dielectrics by early career researchers.

The prize is up to £100 and a certificate.

It honours the contribution of Professor Mansel Morris Davies to the Dielectrics Discussion Group (1968-74).


Download a nomination form (DOC, 30KB) and email to [email protected].

The deadline for nominations is 20 October every year. 


2015 Dielectrics

Ilana Wisby

National Physical Laboratory, Royal Holloway University London

For superconducting micro-resonators fabricated on a rare-earth ion implanted dielectric for quantum information technologies.

2014 Dielectrophoresis

Yağmur Demircan

Middle East Technical University

For Label-free multidrug resistance detection in MCF-7 cells by isolated 3D-electrode dielectrophoresis.

About Professor Mansel Morris Davies (1913-1995)

Our Mansel Davies Award honours the work of professor Davies, who helped to establish the Dielectrics Discussion Group as a meeting point and platform for dielectrics research in the UK and beyond. 

He was Professor of Physical Chemistry at University College Wales and made pioneering contributions to:

  • development of high-resolution infra-red spectroscopy
  • dielectric loss and relaxation as a means of probing molecular behaviour
  • Fourier-transform infra-red spectroscopy

He wrote the popular text book, Some Electronic and Optical Aspects of Molecular Behaviour (1965), and co-authored Dielectric Properties and Molecular Processes (1969) with AH Price, N Hill and WE Vaughan.