Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Annual PhD Thesis Prize: Computational Physics Group

This award is for significant contributions to the advancement of computational physics.


Entry is open to all students who:

  • are from an institution in the UK or Ireland
  • took a PhD examination between 1 January 2022 and the prize submission deadline of 30 April 2023
  • did not apply for the CPG Thesis Prize in the previous year


Send us:

  • a four-page (A4) abstract
  • a one-page (A4) citation from the PhD supervisor, that includes:
  • the date of PhD examination
  • confirmation that the student passed
  • information about whether the thesis has also been submitted to another IOP group for a PhD thesis prize
  • a one-page (A4) confidential report from the external thesis examiner
  • PDF documents if possible


The submission deadline for the 2023 prize is 30 April 2023. Please email submissions and any queries to Dr Shendruk: [email protected].

Winners are invited to write an article in the Computational Physics Group newsletter.

If a similar thesis prize is offered by another IOP group (such as the Theory of Condensed Matter Group), the Committee will liaise with the group so that both prizes are not awarded to the same applicant.



First prize

Zafiirah Hosenie

University of Manchester. For the thesis, Feature Detection and Classification in Streaming and Non-streaming Astronomical Datasets.

Second prize

Mary Coe

University of Bristol. For the thesis, Hydrophobicity Across Length Scales: The Role of Surface Criticality.


Sarah Jenkins 

University of York. For the thesis titled Spin Dynamics Simulations of Iridium Manganese Alloys


Javier Díaz

University of Lincoln. For the thesis titled Computer Simulations of Block Copolymer Nanocomposite Systems.


Aldo Glielmo

King's College London. For Gaussian processes for force fields and wave functions.


Gabriel Constantinescu

The University of Cambridge. For a thesis on large-scale density functional theory study of van der Waals heterostructures.


First prize

Ioan Magdau

The University of Edinburgh. For the thesis, Theoretical Investigation of Solid Hydrogen and Deuterium.

Joint second prize

Ahmed Al-Refaei

UCL. For the thesis, Efficient Production of Hot Molecular Line Lists.

Joint second prize

Morgane Vacher

Imperial College London. For the thesis, Electron and Nuclear Dynamics Following Molecular Ionization: Computational Methods and Applications.


First prize

Cathal O'Broin

Dublin City University. For the thesis, A New GPU-based Computational Framework for the Ab initio Solution of the TDSE for Atomic and Molecular One-Electron Systems under Intense Ultra-Short Laser Fields.

Joint second prize

Patrick Cannon

Lancaster University. For the thesis, Numerical Simulation of Wave-Plasma Interactions in the Ionosphere.

Joint second prize

Andrew Goldsborough

University of Warwick. For the thesis, Tensor Networks and Geometry for the Modelling of Disordered Quantum Many-Body Systems.