Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Lefebvre prize for best PhD thesis in the field of combustion physics

This award will be judged on the significance of the contribution and the difficulties overcome.

The deadline for nominations is Friday 26 January 2024. The prize is £250 and a certificate.

The award is for any PhD thesis published or examined by a UK or Irish university between 1 January 2020 and 31 December 2021.

Any thesis whose author is a member of the IOP and Combustion Physics Group but working overseas is also eligible; such nominations should be accompanied by a note of the membership number of the author.

The PhD can be in any field of combustion physics, which includes:

  • diagnostics;
  • modelling;
  • theories;
  • computation; and
  • measurements.

PhD thesis supervisors nominate a candidate by email with a:

  • thesis abstract (as it appears in the dissertation); and
  • supporting letter of no more than one page, outlining why the nominated candidate fulfils the criteria for the prize.

To make a nomination email: [email protected].

Learn more about Professor Arthur Lefebvre