Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

BRSG-NMRDG Annual Prize for Excellent Contribution to Magnetic Resonance

This prize is awarded for excellence in magnetic resonance and is to honour a work representing one or more substantial contributions to the field.

The prize is awarded jointly by the BRSG (Institute of Physics Magnetic Resonance Society) and the NMR Discussion Group (NMRDG) of the Royal Society of Chemistry on an annual basis.

Nominees can be of any nationality, and must be based in the UK or Ireland at the time of nomination and award.

The research to be recognised can have been partially but not exclusively carried out outside the UK or Ireland.

The prize is awarded to a researcher who has had an independent position for less than seven years (allowing for career breaks).


The winner is awarded £200 by the NMRDG.

The recipient is invited to give a lecture at either the BRSG or the NMRDG Christmas meeting.


The awardee cannot be a member of the prize committee.

The recipient does not have to be a member of the BRSG: The Magnetic Resonance Group, or the NMRDG.


Nominees for the award are nominated and seconded by members of the BRSG or the NMRDG. A short case is made about why the candidate is suitable, which should make reference to one or more substantial contributions to the field.

Send nominations to John Griffin at [email protected] and copy in [email protected].


The prize is awarded by a committee made up of two representatives from the BRSG and two representatives from the NMRDG of the Royal Society of Chemistry. A majority decision of the prize committee is required.



Dr Wing Ying Chow, University of Warwick

For contributions to NMR characterisation of biological systems.


Dr Alice Bowen, University of Manchester
Dr Chris Waudby, University College London


Dr Alexander Forse, University of Cambridge

For NMR studies of nanoporous materials for climate change mitigation.


Dr Karen Johnston, University of Durham

For application of solid-state NMR in combination with other techniques for the characterisation of structure, disorder and diffusion in functional materials.


Dr Ralph Adams, University of Manchester

For extensive contributions in parahydrogen-induced polarisation in conjunction with signal amplification by reversible exchange (SABRE), matrix-assisted diffusion-ordered spectroscopy (DOSY) studies which involved development and implementation of the perfect echo (PE)-Watergate solvent suppression sequence, and pure shift NMR spectroscopy.


Dr Frédéric Blanc, University of Liverpool

For research activities concerning integration of solid-state NMR methods in the discovery of a range of challenging new materials.


Dr Andrew Baldwin, University of Oxford

For investigating the dynamics of very large biomolecular systems.


Dr Giuseppe Pileio, University of Southampton

For work on the theory and application of long-lived nuclear spin states in solution-state NMR. In conjunction with a theoretical understanding of relaxation properties.


Dr Gavin Morley, University of Warwick

For applying magnetic resonance to study coupled electron and nuclear spins in silicon for quantum technologies.


Jonathan Mitchell, University of Cambridge

For work in the area of time domain NMR applied to porous materials.


Dr John Morton, University of Oxford

For Electron and Nuclear Spin Qubits in the Solid State.


Dr Marina Carravetta, University of Southampton

For Cryogenic Static and MAS NMR on Magnesium Boride.


Dr Mathias Nilsson, University of Manchester


Dr Sharon Ashbrook, University of St Andrews

For Multinuclear NMR Study of Host-Guest Interactions in Microporous Aluminophosphates.