Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.


British Carbon Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

About the group

As a special interest, member-driven group, we are interested in the diverse applications of carbon and graphite in modern technology and its variety of textures and structures.

As well as physicists and chemists, we welcome professionals from other disciplines with an interest in carbon. We are attracting interest from scientists working in mainland Europe and developing economies.

We have contact with similar groups in France, Spain, Germany, Poland, the Netherlands, the USA and Japan.

In 1977, the group became the Joint Carbon Group of The Institute of Physics and the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Since January 1994, the group has been joined with the Industrial Carbon and Graphite Group of The Society of Chemical Industry and is known as The British Carbon Group.

Our newsletter keeps members updated about our activities.

What the group does

The discovery of fullerenes and nanotubes has added another dimension to our activities.

The breadth of physics research generated by the industrial importance of these materials spans many branches of:

  • science
  • engineering
  • technology

Joining an IOP special interest group

For non-IOP members: Become a member now

For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

Group physics prize

Learn more about The Brian Kelly Award on the British Carbon Group website.

Group events

Learn more about our events on the British Carbon Group website.


Read our other recent newsletters on the British Carbon Group website.

Useful links


Find resources on The British Carbon Group blog.

Committee and contacts

Chair Dr Geoff Fowler
Vice-chair Dr Chris Ewels, FREng
Treasurer Dr Peter Minshall
Ordinary Member Dr Calvin Davidson, MInstP
Ordinary Member Professor Richard Jackman, CPhys FInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Carlos Lledo-Fernandez, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Natalia Martsinovich, MInstP
Ordinary Member Professor Marek Szablewski, CPhys FInstP
Ordinary Member Professor Maria-Magdalena Titirici, RSC
Ordinary Member Mrs Samantha Wilkinson, CPhys MInstP

Email: [email protected]