Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Biological Physics Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

About the group

As a special interest, member-driven group, we are interested in the study of systems that are either biological in origin or serve as informative models.

Biological physics spans the molecular to whole ecosystems. Common themes are:

  • the application and development of physical techniques
  • conceptual models to the living world

Discussion and collaboration is encouraged, through the organisation and scientific meetings.

Biological physics was identified as an important area in a report by the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (PDF, 2.55MB).

What the group does

We encourage a community spirit among biological physicists and promote their:

  • interests
  • publications
  • research
  • this area of physics

Joining an IOP special interest group

For non-IOP members: Become a member now

For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

Group events

Find events for the Biological Physics Group


Useful links

Download The Importance of Engineering and Physical Sciences Research to Health and Life Sciences (PDF, 2.55MB)

Learn about the Biophysical Society

Committee and contacts

ChairProfessor Mark Leake, FInstP
SecretaryProfessor Michelle Peckham
TreasurerProfessor Mark Wallace, MInstP
Ordinary MemberDr Peter Adams, MInstP
Ordinary MemberDr Nirvana Caballero, MInstP
Ordinary MemberDr Matteo Degiacomi, MInstP
Ordinary MemberDr Diana Fusco, MInstP
Ordinary MemberDr Isabella Guido, MInstP
Ordinary MemberDr Chiu Fan Lee, MInstP
Co-opted MemberDr Marco Mazza, MInstP
Ordinary MemberDr Timothy Saunders, MInstP
Co-opted MemberDr Margarita Staykova
Ordinary MemberDr Bartlomiej Waclaw, MInstP
Ordinary MemberDr Massimo Vassalli, MInstP

Email: [email protected]