Astroparticle Physics Group

This is an IOP special interest group, which is a community of IOP members focused on a particular discipline, application or area of interest. 

Special interest groups allow members to connect and share knowledge and ideas. The IOP funds groups to deliver a range of activities including events, prizes and bursaries. All of our groups are driven by members.  

About the group

As a special interest, member-driven group, we recognise the need for distinct UK representation in this rapidly expanding field.

Astroparticle physics is multidisciplinary and topics include:

  • direct and indirect detection of dark matter
  • cosmic ray physics
  • neutrinoless double beta decay
  • cosmological neutrinos 
  • nuclear astrophysics
  • neutrino and gamma ray astronomy
  • dark matter

What the group does

Our activities include:

  • acting as a representative forum for discussion and contact to the astroparticle physics community in the UK and Ireland
  • organisation of an annual general meeting for astroparticle physics community
  • producing and circulating a community newsletter
  • providing support for half-day meetings
  • recognition of outstanding work in astroparticle physics, rewarded with bi-annual early-career and thesis prizes
silhouettes of a group of people with backdrop of equations

Joining an IOP special interest group

For non-IOP members: Become a member now

For IOP members: Find out how to join a group

Group prizes and competitions

We have two astrophysics prizes:

  • Our IOP APP  Early Career Prize is awarded on odd years. 
  • Our IOP APP Thesis Prize is awarded on even years.

The prize is £250 and a certificate. 

Find out more about the IOP APP Early Career Prize

Find out more about the IOP APP Thesis Prize

APP of the Day contest winners

This contest showcases the great work being done by astroparticle physics PhD students.

Find out about the APP of the Day contest winners


A Review of UK Astroparticle Physics Research

Review of UK Astroparticle Physics Research

Download report (PDF, 1.44MB)

Group events

Find group events on the IOP events site.


December 2019 (PDF, 6MB)
December 2018 (PDF, 2.2MB)
December 2016 (PDF, 711KB)
January 2014 (PDF, 528KB)

Useful links

Make a nomination for one of our prizes.

Committee and contacts