Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

The Goronwy Jones prize

The Goronwy Jones prize is the only physics prize awarded directly by IOP in Wales.

It was introduced by the then south Wales branch of IOP and named after John Goronwy Jones (1920-1999) in recognition of the contribution that he had made to physics education in south Wales and, indeed, throughout the UK.

A fitting account of Jones’s life and his role as a champion of physics education and teachers can be found in an article by Brenda Jennison that appeared in the journal Physics Education.

The prize is currently £300 and is awarded on an annual basis. It is awarded to the top-scoring A-level candidate in Physics (WJEC). It is our hope that it will continue to serve the purposes for which it was introduced, namely to promote excellence in the study of A-level physics, and to recognise the contribution made by Jones to both physics education and IOP in Wales.

Former winners:

  • 2023
    Joseph Jenkins
    Pembrokeshire College 

    Yuchen Sun
    Cardiff Sixth Form College
  • 2019
    Daniel Siromani
    St John’s College, Cardiff
  • 2016
    Gwyn Zachary Edwards
    Cathedral School
  • 2015
    Rhidian Thomas
    Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Glantaf 

    Jack Davies
    Ysgol Stanwell School
  • 2014
    Dominic Manetta-Jones
    Brynteg Comprehensive school
  • 2013
    Konrad Edwards
    Rougemont School
  • 2012
    Christopher Howard Williamson
    Ysgol Gyfun Gwynllyw
  • 2011
    Alexander Marr
    Cardiff High School
  • 2010
    Gruffudd Antur
    Ysgol y Berwyn