Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

South West Branch

The South West Branch is one of 11 regional branches in England, and part of a wider network of IOP activity across our Nations including Scotland, Ireland and Wales. 

The branch covers Wiltshire, Somerset, Dorset, Devon, Cornwall, Gloucestershire, the Isles of Scilly and the Channel Islands. Our events take place in our centres across Bristol, Bath, Cheltenham, Salisbury, Plymouth, Exeter and Swindon.


Our activities

We organise a full programme of talks, visits and engagement opportunities for members in the South West, and work locally to promote physics, physics education and public understanding of physics.

Branch committee

Chair Dr Vincent Smith MBE, FInstP
Secretary Dr Craig McNeile, CPhys FInstP
Treasurer Mrs Barbara Wilcox, CPhys MInstP
Retired Members Representative Professor Angela Newing, FInstP
Ordinary Member Miss Michelle Bailey, MInstP
Co-opted Member Mr Peter Bromley, MInstP
Ordinary Member Mr Philip Cooper, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Claire Davies, MInstP
Ordinary Member Mr Neil Dennis-Purves, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Akhil Kallepalli, MInstP
Ordinary Member Mr Matthew Millyard, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Samuel Morrell, MInstP
Co-opted Member Mr Tariq Rashid, MInstP
Ordinary Member Mr Paul Treble, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr David Webb, MInstP

Branch events

View upcoming South West Branch events.

You can find recordings of previous branch events on our IOP Regions and Nations YouTube playlist.


Branch support officer

Jane Mungai: [email protected]

Branch contact details

Email: [email protected]

Keep up to date with our news, events and activities via our Facebook and Twitter pages.