Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

North East Branch

The North East Branch is one of 11 regional branches in England, and part of a wider network of IOP activity across our Nations including Scotland, Ireland and Wales. It covers NorthumberlandCounty Durham and Teesside, with activity centres based in Newcastle and Durham.

Our activities

We organise talks, visits and engagement opportunities for members in the North East, and work locally to promote physics, physics education and public understanding of physics.

Branch committee

Chair Dr Samuel James, MInstP
Vice-chair Mrs Angelina Anderson-Groves, MInstP
Interim Secretary Dr Angela Dyson, MInstP
Interim Secretary Dr Maciej Matuszewski, MInstP
Treasurer Mr Brian Metcalf, MInstP
Retired Members Representative Dr Geoffrey Heywood
Ordinary Member Dr Carol Davenport, CPhys FInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Ian Forbes, CPhys MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Sergio Gonzalez Sanchez, MInstP
Ordinary Member Dr Juna Sathian, MInstP
Co-opted Member Dr Paul Branch

Branch events

View our upcoming branch events.


Contact details

Email: [email protected]

Keep up to date with our branch news, activities and events via our Facebook and Twitter pages.

Branch support co-ordinator

Bethany Wootton: [email protected]

Regional staff

Regional and Business Engagement Manager
Dr Alex Brabbs
[email protected]
07795 831434

We deliver IOP strategy based on, and responding to, local needs and opportunities. We work closely with the Yorkshire and North East Branch committees and attend meetings, events and lectures as part of the annual programme of branch activity.

If you have any questions about the IOP in Yorkshire or the North East, or collaborations and physics-related ideas, you would like to see happening, please don't hesitate to contact Alex.