Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

IOP Ireland National Committee

The IOP Ireland committee plays an essential role in supporting physics across the island.

The IOP Ireland National Committee plays an essential role in supporting physics and connecting physicists in national and local communities across Ireland and Northern Ireland.

The Committee welcomes input from members and the wider physics community to inform our work across all sectors including education, academia, industry and higher education/research.

IOP Ireland Committee (from 1 October 2022):

Chair Dr Dermot Green, MInstP, Queen's University Belfast
Vice Chair Dr Yvonne Lydon-Kavanagh, CPhys MInstP, IT Carlow
Secretary Vacant
Ordinary member Professor David Jess, MInstP
Ordinary member Dr Sarah Markham, MInstP
Ordinary member Professor Enda McGlynn, CPhys FInstP
Ordinary member Professor David Riley, FInstP
Undergraduate representative Niamh Hickey
Undergraduate representative Emma Hughes
Postgraduate representative Sarah Gregg, MInstP

HEI Representatives (from 1 October 2022):

Dr Jennifer Gaughran, Dublin City University (Co-opted Member)
Dr Andreas Ruschhaupt, University College Cork (Co-opted Member)
Professor Ursel Bangert, University of Limerick
Dr Steve Campbell, University College Dublin
Dr Luca Matrá, Trinity College Dublin
Dr Patricia Scully, University of Galway