IOP Fellow Lord Browne to join the board of UKRI as it takes shape

28 September 2017

Lord Browne of Madingley, a Fellow of the IOP, is to be one of the 12 non-executive members of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) under the interim chairmanship of Sir John Kingman, it was announced today by science minister Jo Johnson.

IOP Fellow Lord Browne to join the board of UKRI as it takes shape
LetterOne Group

Lord (John) Browne is currently executive chairman of L1 Energy and a former chief executive of BP. A fellow of the Royal Society and a former president of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2006–11, he holds a first-class honours degree in physics from the University of Cambridge. As Baron Browne of Madingley he sits as a cross-bencher in the House of Lords.

The other non-executive directors are to be Fiona Driscoll, Mustafa Suleyman, Professor Sir Peter Bazalgette, Professor Julia Black, Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz, Sir Harpal Kumar, Professor Max Lu, Professor Sir Ian Diamond, Professor Alice Gast, Vivienne Parry and Lord (David) Willetts. Professor Dame Sally Davies will join board meetings in a personal capacity.

UKRI will come into existence in April 2018, merging the seven UK research councils, Innovate UK and the new organisation Research England.

Cookie Settings