Six IOP Teachers of Physics Award winners are named

28 September 2016

Six people who are to receive 2016 Teachers of Physics Awards from the IOP were named by the Institute today.

Six IOP Teachers of Physics Award winners are named

The six are Theresa Conlon of Kendrick School, Reading; Máire Duffy of Clonkeen College, County Dublin; Martin Guy of St Albans School, St Albans; Jennie Hargreaves of Lockerbie Academy, Dumfriesshire; Shane Jenkins, of Gwernyfed High School, Brecon; and Ralston West, of the London Academy, Edgware.

The IOP’s Teachers of Physics Awards celebrate the success of secondary school teachers who, by their outstanding practice in the classroom, have raised the state of physics and science in schools. The teachers will be presented with their awards at the Institute’s annual Awards Dinner in London on 29 November.

The IOP’s president, Professor Roy Sambles said: “Teachers provide an invaluable academic foundation for the future of science development, and it is important that we recognise and celebrate the successes of those who are able to motivate and inspire young minds.

“It is a delight to celebrate those who helped to nurture the intellectual development of students and inspire the next generation to study physics. I warmly congratulate these six individuals for their outstanding contributions to educating the scientists of tomorrow.”

Read the citations for all six award winners.

Cookie Settings