Royal Society awards 2013

8 August 2013

Five IOP fellows and two honorary fellows have been awarded medals or prizes by the Royal Society (RS).

Prof. Sir Andre Geim

They include honorary fellow Prof. Sir Andre Geim, a Nobel Prize-winning physicist based at the University of Manchester, who receives the Copley Medal – the society’s oldest and most prestigious award. The award has been made for Prof. Geim’s “numerous scientific contributions, and in particular for initiating research on two-dimensional atomic crystals and their artificial heterostructures”, the RS said.


Prof. Sir Konstantin Novoselov

Prof. Sir Konstantin Novoselov, an IOP honorary fellow also based at Manchester who was awarded the Nobel Prize jointly with Prof. Geim, is to receive the Leverhulme Medal. It is for his “revolutionary work on graphene, other two-dimensional crystals and their heterostructures, which has great potential for a number of applications, from electronics to energy”, the RS said. 


Prof. Peter N T Wells

Prof. Peter N T Wells is to receive one of the RS’s three Royal Medals, which with the Copley Medal are the society’s premier awards. They are conferred annually for the most important contributions in the physical, biological and applied sciences. The RS said that Prof. Wells receives the medal for “pioneering the application of the physical and engineering sciences to the development of ultrasonics as a diagnostic and surgical tool that has revolutionised clinical practice”.


Prof. Lynn Gladden

Prof. Lynn Gladden has been awarded the 2014 Bakerian Lecture for her work in the development of magnetic resonance techniques to study multi-component adsorption, diffusion, flow and reaction processes. The annual prize lecture, which began in 1775, is “the premier lecture in the physical sciences”, the RS said, and is accompanied by a medal. Prof. Gladden is pro-vice-chancellor for research, and the Shell Professor of Chemical Engineering, at the University of Cambridge.


Prof. Henning Sirringhaus

Prof. Henning Sirringhaus, who is the Hitachi Professor of Electron Device Physics at the Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge, has been awarded the Hughes Medal, which is given biennially for an original discovery in the physical sciences, particularly as applied to the generation, storage and use of energy. Prof. Sirringhaus was awarded the medal for his pioneering development of inkjet printing processes for organic semiconductor devices and “dramatic improvement of their functioning and efficiency”.


Prof. Frank Close

Theoretical physicist Prof. Frank Close, who is Professor of Physics at the University of Oxford, has been awarded the Michael Faraday Prize. The prize is awarded annually to a scientist or engineer whose expertise in communicating scientific ideas in lay terms is exemplary. Prof. Close has been awarded the prize for his “excellent work in science communication”.


Prof. Polina Bayvel

Prof. Polina Bayvel, who is Professor of Optical Communications and Networks at University College London, has been awarded the Clifford Paterson Lecture. The lecture, which is accompanied by a medal, is given biennially on any aspect of engineering. Prof. Bayvel was awarded the prize lecture for “her fundamental research in high bandwidth digital communications and nonlinear optics.

Cookie Settings