IOP members recognised in New Year Honours

3 January 2012

Congratulations are due to IOP members recognised in the 2012 New Year Honours for their contributions to science, research, innovation or education.


Nobel Prize-winning physicists Professor Andre Geim and Professor Konstantin Novoselov, who were made honorary fellows of the Institute of Physics last year, have been made Knights Bachelor.

Prof. Geim and Prof. Novoselov, both professors of physics at the University of Manchester, were knighted for services to science. They were jointly awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics in 2010 for groundbreaking experiments regarding the two-dimensional material graphene.

Jonathan Flint, chief executive of Oxford Instruments and a member of the IOP’s Council, has been awarded a CBE for services to business and science. A CBE has also been awarded to IOP member Professor Philip Sutton, lately director of science and technology strategy at the Ministry of Defence.

Two IOP members have been awarded the OBE. Professor James McLaughlin, professor of advanced functional materials at the University of Ulster, received the OBE for services to research and economic development in Northern Ireland, while Professor Mohamed El-Gomati, professor of electronics at the University of York, was awarded the OBE for services to science.

MBEs were awarded to IOP members Professor Derek Raine, director of the Physics Innovations Centre for Excellence in Teaching at the University of Leicester, for services to science education, and John Huddleston, lately knowledge leader and project director at AEA Technology, for services to the environment.

Cookie Settings