New Year's Honours 2011

4 January 2011

Three fellows of the Institute have received honours in the 2011 New Year’s list.

OBE Medal

Brian Stanley Collins FInstP, Chief Scientific Adviser at the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS), has received a CB, Christopher Robin Lowe FInstP, Professor of Biotechnology at the University of Cambridge, has received an OBE for services to science, and Professor Tudor Bowden Jones FInstP, from the University of Leicester, has received a MBE.

Professor Collins, who becomes a Commander of the Order of the Bath, oversees BIS’s science and engineering activity to ensure BIS strategy, policy making and delivery is effectively informed by high quality science and engineering evidence. He is also Professor of Information Systems at Cranfield University.

Professor Lowe, who directs the Institute of Biotechnology in the Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology at Cambridge University, is credited with the development of high value fine chemicals, pharmaceuticals and diagnostics. Throughout his career, he has amassed more than 300 publications, eight books and 60 patents.

Professor Tudor Bowden Jones, from the University of Leicester’s Department of Physics and Astronomy, has received a MBE for services to science. Professor Jones was Head of the Physics and Astronomy Department in the 1990s when the University received the Queen’s Anniversary Prize for Higher and Further Education for its work in Physics and Astronomy.

Cookie Settings