Very Early Career Woman Physicist Prize

The Shell and Institute of Physics Award for the Very Early Career Woman Physicist of the Year 2015

Sponsored by Shell

The Women in Physics Group invites applications from women at the start of their careers in physics who have made a substantial contribution to the subject and have undertaken activities to support and encourage others in the field. The prize is awarded annually to a woman who is within five years of the award of her first degree in physics (Bachelor’s or Master’s),allowing for career breaks, and is either working as a physicist or is engaged in postgraduate study in physics.

Shortlisted applicants will give a presentation of their work at a major Institute of Physics’ Women in Physics event on 5 November 2015. The winner will be presented with £1,000 donated by Shell and an award certificate at a this event. As well as providing recognition of the winner's work, the award will also provide valuable networking opportunities. Applicants must therefore be resident in the UK or Ireland at the time of applying for the award.

The Very Early Career Woman Physicist of the Year Award seeks to recognise the outstanding work of women embarking on a career in physics and to promote the career opportunities open to people with physics qualifications.

Application Process

Applicants should submit a report of their activities which should be no more than 1500 words long. The report should be accompanied by the applicant’s CV.

The report should include:

  • details of her contribution to the project on which she is working
  • details of activities she has undertaken to encourage others in physics
  • the names and contact details of two referees, with close knowledge of her work and/or her outreach activities. References will only be taken up for those who are short-listed.

Any person wishing to nominate another for the prize must enclose the written consent of the nominee.

Members of the WIPG Advisory Panel will judge the entries, their decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

All entries must be received by 15 July 2015

Related information