2016 winner of renamed early career award

5 December 2016

Dr Jess Wade has won the IOP's Jocelyn Bell Burnell Medal and Prize, which was until this year called the IOP Women in Physics Group's Very Early Career Woman Physicist of the Year Award.

The award is for women in their early career who have made a substantial contribution to physics and who support and encourage others in the field. Dr Jess Wade (who is a a visiting researcher at Imperial College London and conducts outreach at King's College London) was one of four finalists who gave presentations on their research, their involvement in outreach and their support for other physicists at the IOP's London centre on 9th November 2016.

The other finalists were Jessica Boland (a DPhil student in the Terahertz Photonics Group at the University of Oxford), Dr Jennifer Gaughran, who recently completed a PhD at the School of Physical Sciences and the Biomedical Diagnostics Unit at Dublin City University (DCU), and Teodora Oniga, a third-year PhD student in theoretical physics at the University of Aberdeen.

For further information about the prize, winner, and finalists please see the IOP article, as well as the Women in Physics Group Facebook page and the IOP twitter page.

Cookie Settings