PAB Group Prize Winners

For Outstanding Professional Contributions

Richard Walker Pic

Richard Walker

For his exceptional contribution to the design and development of internationally pioneering modern light sources, for his outstanding leadership at the Diamond Light Source and its future development and his seminal contributions to the evolution of next-generation light sources.


Andy Wolski

For his outstanding fundamental research leading to ultra-high-quality beam generation at accelerator facilities worldwide, for his international contributions to educating a new generation of accelerator scientists, and for his strategic leadership both nationally and internationally.

Mike Poole

For his world-class, internationally-recognised contributions to accelerator physics and the advancement of Free Electron Laser facilities worldwide; for his stewardship of the field of accelerator science in the UK, including his leadership of the Accelerator Science and Technology Centre; for his work for the Institute of Physics leading to the creation of the Particle Accelerators and Beams Group; and for his support and mentorship of his staff and colleagues.

No Prize Awarded

Christopher Prior

For his seminal contributions to the mathematical modelling of intense particle beams — in particular for his development of novel simulation methods and codes; for his generation of innovative accelerator concepts; for his educational and intellectual leadership; and for his many related contributions to the success of state-of-the-art accelerator facilities in the UK and around the world.

Ian Gardner

To Ian Gardner for his many innovative contributions to the physics and engineering of high-power proton accelerators and beams - and in particular for his development of RF systems for spallation neutron sources, for his leadership in design, delivery and operation of successful solutions for NIMROD, ISIS, ESS and other projects, and for his significant contributions to steering the development of major national and international accelerator facilities.

Prof Neil Marks

For his many innovative contributions to the physics and technology of magnet systems for particle accelerators and beam lines.

Neil is widely known both in the UK and overseas and the official citation mentioned a whole series of projects on which he has had major impact, including SRS, ESRF, Diamond, ALICE and EMMA. In addition he ran the Cockcroft Institute postgraduate training programme and he himself has also lectured frequently at both the CERN and Joint Universities Accelerator Schools.

Cookie Settings