Group Prize

We invite applications for the IOP Nuclear Physics Group early career researcher prize. 

The prize is awarded annually to promising early-career scientists for outstanding contributions to the field of nuclear physics. The winner of the prize shall receive £300 and be invited to present their work at the annual IOP Nuclear Physics Conference. 

Candidates should normally have had not more than five years of research experience (including postgraduate and postdoctoral work) prior to the date of receipt of nomination by the group committee. Career breaks, pastime study, or time spent in employment not related to physics-based research do not count towards the five-year period, but a brief career history would be helpful. Nominations for physicists working in the applications of nuclear physics or the nuclear and industry are welcome. 

We also support nominations from students themselves, so long as they have the support of their supervisor.

Download the nomination form.

Deadline for application forms: 18 January 2019
Deadline for supporting statements: 25 January 2019

Previous recipients

Kara Lynch
The University of Manchester

Liam Gaffney
University of Liverpool

Matthew Reed
University of Surrey

Edward Simpson
University of Surrey

Cookie Settings