Group prize

Liquids and Complex Fluids Early Career Award

Terms of reference

The prize is awarded biennially to an exceptional scientist, in the early stages of their career, working in the broadly defined area of Liquids and Complex Fluids. The winner will receive £250, a certificate and will be invited to organise a one-day meeting.


Those eligible for awards should have made a substantial contribution to the development or reputation of physics in the UK or Ireland.

The Council has defined “Early Career Awards” as applying to those individuals in the first 12 years of their career (allowing for career breaks), eg following the award of a first degree. Those who are currently paid employees of the Institute, members of Council and those under contract to the Institute are not eligible for awards.

The deadline for nominations has been extended to 31 July 2019.

Past Winners

  • 2017
    Lorenzo Di Michele (University of Cambridge)
  • 2015 
    Kislon Voitchovsky (University of Durham)
  • 2013 
    Anita Zeidler (University of Bath)
  • 2011 
    James Adams (University of Surrey)
  • 2009 
    Dirk Aarts (University of Oxford)

Cookie Settings