Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Result of Elections to IOP Council

16 July 2021

Announcement made at the IOP’s Annual General Meeting on 15 July 2021.

The results of the elections to the Institute of Physics (IOP) Council were announced at the IOP’s Annual General Meeting on 15 July 2021.

Professor Sir Keith Burnett CBE was elected President-elect. This means he will become IOP President in two years’ time, after the term of Professor Sheila Rowan CBE, which begins in October this year.

Professor Alison McMillan was elected Honorary Secretary.

Dr Elizabeth Cunningham was elected Vice-President for Membership.

Four people were elected Ordinary Members of Council: Rosalie Benjamin, Professor Philip Burrows, Professor John Dainton, and Jane Weir.

Outgoing President Jonathan Flint CBE said: “I congratulate all those who are joining our Council at this vitally important time for the IOP, and I am immensely grateful to those who have served with me over the past four years. I would also like to thank all our members who made their voices heard by voting in these elections.

“It is clear COVID-19 will continue to present us with challenges for some time to come, while the climate emergency and sustainable economic recovery remain priorities for us. Physics has a critical role to play in helping society address all these issues. I know the IOP will continue to ensure physicists play a full role in society, while seeking to enable people from all parts of society to become successful physicists.”