Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

IOP 2023 Council election results announced

21 July 2023

We are delighted to announce our six new trustees, who will take up their posts on 1 October.

The votes for the 2023 IOP Council elections have been counted and verified. We are delighted to announce our six new trustees who will take up their posts from 1 October 2023.

Elected as President-elect

Professor Michele Dougherty CBE

Michele Dougherty is Professor of Space Physics at Imperial College London and Head of the Physics Department. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society and known for her leadership of magnetometer instrument teams on planetary missions, including the Nasa/European Space Agency (ESA)/Italian Space Agency Cassini-Huygens mission to Saturn and its Titan moon and the ESA Juice mission to Jupiter and its moons.

Elected as Honorary Treasurer

Professor David Delpy CBE

David Delpy is the current serving Honorary Treasurer of the IOP and has now been elected for a second term.

David is an Emeritus Professor of Medical Photonics in the Department of Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering at University College London, Chair of the Healthcare Topic Group at the Royal Academy of Engineering, and Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board for the Future Metrology Hub at the University of Huddersfield. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society, the Royal Academy of Engineering and the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Elected as Vice-President for Science and Innovation

Professor Tara Shears

Tara Shears is a particle physicist at the University of Liverpool, where she leads a group who perform research with the Large Hadron Collider beauty experiment, at CERN’s Large Hadron Collider. She is the outgoing chair of Science and Technology Facilities Council’s Science Board and was a Physics REF subpanel member for the 2021 exercise. Tara has previously served on the IOP High Energy Particle Physics Group and the IOP Merseyside Branch.

Elected as General Trustees

Dr Jane Clark

Jane Clark chose to leave academia for the business world, after a condensed-matter PhD and postdoc. She retired after a 40-year career in product development. After completing a part-time MBA in 2005, Jane rekindled a childhood interest in astronomy. She has written three books on the subject and is preparing a fourth. Jane has also chaired a branch and a group of the IOP at various times.

Dr Hana Krizek

Hana Krizek has been the owner and Finance Director of a physics-based company specialising in surface analysis instrumentation since 1992. She has a master’s degree from Charles University in Prague and a PhD in Mathematics and Physics from Durham University. She has held numerous previous academic roles at Durham, the University of Leicester and De Montfort University, as well as running a separate consultancy in Cologne, Germany, all of which utilised her expertise in applied physics.

Professor Sir Roy Sambles

Roy Sambles has been an academic physicist for 50 years and is a former President and an Honorary Fellow of the IOP. He is Professor Emeritus of Experimental Physics at Exeter University where he continues to supervise seven PhD students researching Metamaterials. He also delivers demonstration lectures on the wonder of light and even wave-particle duality to wide-ranging audiences, from the elderly at u3a, to infant school children.

Our congratulations to all those who were successful – and thank you to all the candidates who put themselves forward. Our thanks also to the wider membership who voted in the elections.

See the full results of the IOP 2023 Council elections (PDF, 116KB)