Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

2022 IOP Council election results

1 August 2022

Dr Peter Thompson and Dr Melissa Uchida elected Council members from 1 October.

The results of the 2022 Institute of Physics (IOP) Council elections have been counted and verified – and we are delighted to announce details of our two new trustees and Council members who will take up their posts from 1 October 2022 and will serve a four-year term.

Dr Peter Thompson FInstP FREng FRSC is chief executive of the National Physical Laboratory (NPL), the UK’s National Metrology Institute (NMI), widely regarded as one of the leading NMIs in the world. Peter has led NPL’s development and growth in recent years aligned to the UK’s national challenges.

Peter holds a number of international advisory positions and has a passion for diversity and inclusion in science and engineering.

Dr Melissa Uchida MInstP is an associate professor at the University of Cambridge where she leads the neutrino group. She is currently involved in the US-based neutrino programme, the international Muon Collider design study and mid-range gravitational waves searches with AION.

She is chair of the IOP Particle Accelerators and Beams Group committee and has just been elected chair of the IOP High Energy Particle Physics Group committee (she is treasurer until October).

Our congratulations to Dr Thompson and Dr Uchida – and thank you to all the candidates who put themselves forward. Our thanks also to the wider membership who voted in the elections.

See the full results of the 2022 IOP Council elections.

Tom Grinyer
Chief Executive Officer, IOP Group