Menu Close


Log in to personalise your experience and connect with IOP.

Co-opted Trustee: Dr Yvonne Kavanagh CPhys MInstP

Term of office: October 2022-September 2024

Yvonne is the Director of Engineering Research and Innovation at the South East Technological University (SETU), Carlow, Ireland. She has leadership responsibility for directing and developing the research portfolio across the engineering domains. Yvonne was Chair of the Institute of Physics (IOP) Ireland committee from 2019-2022 and is currently a member of the IOP Audit and Risk Committee.

Previously, Yvonne served as the Assistant Registrar in SETU Carlow Campus with oversight for the quality assurance and enhancement review processes. At a national level, she is on the National Academic Integrity Network Steering Group and chairs one of the working groups.

She is involved in many learner-focused projects and reach-out activities. These have included nationally funded projects: Live and Learn in Ireland and Technology-Enhanced Assessment Methods in Science & Health Practical Settings (TEAM), and the Science Foundation Ireland-funded projects SOPHia Physics and Weave, where there has been a national impact.

She was a member of successful IT Carlow Athena SWAN Steering Committee. Yvonne has led the Irish team at the International Conference on Women in Physics since 2015. Yvonne is an Advance HE Aurora Champion and serves on the Aurora Advisory Group.

She has had many roles, including programme director, and she lectured in the Faculty of Science, where her interest in education led her to pioneer physical physics as an active learning approach. She managed the BSc (IT management) programme delivered in China.

She is a member of the management board of the Carlow International College of Technology (CICT), based in Zhengzhou, Henan, China, and currently serves as the Vice-Dean for Academic Affairs at CICT.

Yvonne previously worked in industry for Hughes-JVC and Bio-Rad in various scientific roles and her research interests include sol-gel deposition of thin films. In 2001 she was a recipient of the R. F. Bunshah Award in recognition of her research on thin films.