The Payne-Gaposchkin medal and prize

Payne Gaposchkin Award medal

In 2008 Council decided to establish the Payne-Gaposchkin medal and prize.

Cecelia Payne-Gaposchkin was first person to show that the Sun is mainly composed of hydrogen, contradicting accepted wisdom at the time.  She is regarded as a key figure in women's science because her trail blazing brought women scientists into the mainstream.

The award is made biennially in odd dated years.

The award shall be made for distinguished research in plasma, solar or space physics. The medal will be accompanied by a prize of £1000 and a certificate.