The Appleton medal and prize

The Appleton medal and prize

In 2008 Council decided to establish the Appleton medal and prize.

This award had originally been known as the Chree medal and prize, which was instituted in 1939 as a memorial to Dr Charles Chree (President of The Physical Society 1908-10).

The Appleton Medal and prize was established in 2008.  Sir Edward Appleton was British physicist who in 1947 received the Nobel Prize for his achievements in ionospheric physics; his experiments proved the existence of a layer of ionised gas in the upper atmosphere, known now as the Appleton layer

From 1941 to 1999 the award was made in alternate years, from 2001 it was awarded annually and from 2009 in even-dated years.

The award shall be made for distinguished research in environmental, earth or atmospheric physics. The medal shall be silver and shall be accompanied by a prize of £1000 and a certificate.